SPMCIL though a new entity is composed of units that have a rich & long history of handling the security printing & minting in the nation.
  • 18th Century- Minting of coins started at Calcutta Mint. In In 1790 modern machinery was brought from England and second Mint was established. Bronze, silver and Gold coins were getting Minted from these mints.
  • 1918- British sovereign were minted during 1918 as the Mint in Mumbai was declared as branch of Royal Mint of London.
  • 1925 - Printing of postal stationery & stamps started at Nashik.
  • 1928 - Printing of currency/bank notes started at Nashik.
  • 1929 onwards - various other security products added.
  • 1962 - Re. 1/- printing started at new location.
  • 1967- A Security Paper manufacturing Mill was commissioned at Hoshangabad(M.P.)
  • 1974- A new press was established at Dewas (M.P) with complete range of printing machines to take care of printing of higher denomination of bank notes using "Intaglio Printing Technology and Guillotine Machines" for carrying out finishing jobs of processing bank notes. In Bank Notes Press, Dewas, high quality security inks are also produced and supplied to various security organizations.
  • 1980 - Printing of all currency/bank notes shifted to new location.
  • 1982- First security printing unit established by Government of India at Hyderabad.
  • 1988- Government of India came up with first Mint of its own at NOIDA (U.P.)
  • 1989 - Low security products